2016 By-Election


District of Fort St. James 2016 By-Election                                        

The District of Fort St. James is seeking nominations for candidates for the 2016 By-Election for the position of Councillor. One (1) position is available. The By-Election is taking place due to the resignation of a member of Council. The term of this position is until December 2018. To be eligible for election, a nominee must:

  • be an individual who is, or who will be on general voting day for the election, 18 years of age or older;
  • be a Canadian citizen;
  • have been a resident of British Columbia, as determined in accordance with section 67, of the Local Government Act, for at least 6 months immediately before the election;
  • not be disqualified under the Local Government Act or any other enactment from voting in an election in British Columbia or from being nominated for, being elected to or holding the office, or be otherwise disqualified by law.

Eligible nominees may pick up nomination packages at the District Office Monday to Friday 8:30am to 4:30pm. Completed nomination packages can be dropped off between 8:30am- 4:30pm October 25th and 4:00 pm on November 4th at the District Office.

General voting will take place December 10th 8:00am to 8:00pm at the District of Fort St. James, 477 Stuart Drive West. Advance polls will take place November 30th and December 7th at the District Office between 8:00am and 8:00pm.



Questions can be directed to:

Kevin Crook, Chief Election Officer




Lina Gasser, Deputy Election Officer




Speak Your Mind